Flashfall review

Flashfall by Jenny Moyer ❤❤❤❤/5

img_4037Synopsis

Orion is a Subpar, expected to mine the tunnels of Outpost Five, near the deadly flash curtain. For generations, her people have chased cirium—the only element that can shield humanity from the curtain’s radioactive particles. She and her caving partner, Dram work the most treacherous tunnel, fighting past flash bats and tunnel gulls, in hopes of mining enough cirium to earn their way into the protected city.

But when newcomers arrive at Outpost Five, Orion uncovers disturbing revelations that make her question everything she thought she knew about life on both sides of the cirium shield. As conditions at the outpost grow increasingly dangerous, it’s up to Orion to forge a way past the flashfall, beyond all boundaries, beyond the world as she knows it. increasingly dangerous, it’s up to Orion to forge a way past the flashfall, beyond all boundaries, beyond the world as she knows it.

My thoughts:

Flashfall was a good dystopian novel that kept me on my toes. Moyer did a good job developing this world that I could picture it, the map in the book did help too. This book not like any other dystopian books I have read and it had an interesting plot. 

The plot was good but there were some things that I think Moyer could have expanded on or added to clarify some things. The whole idea of a flashfall and how their air was polluted so some people lived safe behind the flash curtain and others like Orion lived on outpost five and had to mine was a cool concept. While reading I could sort of see something like this actually happening. It was interning how they had to mine cirium to shield themselves from the flashfall and also that mining enough would earn their freedom and safety. The only thing was I wished cirium was described a bit more because I did not understand if it was like a gem or minerals; that did not bother me a lot but I think it would have been nice to know how it looked like. 

The main characters were written so well, I instantly fell in love with Orion and Dram. They are best friends and would do anything to make sure the other safe. I love that they were friends and that caving strengthen their bond towards each other. Watching their story and how they had to survive was so fun and thrilling to read. The other characters were also great, Moyer really has you fall for the supporting characters who help Orion and Dram. 

“Step in my steps” – Orion

This book was fast paced and full of action which kept me want to keep reading. I recommend this book to everyone! Jenny Moyer did a great job with her debut novel and I cannot wait for the sequel! 

One thought on “Flashfall review

Leave a Reply

