Frostblood Review

Frostblood by Elly Blake 

img_4149

Genre: Fantasy
Publisher: Little Brown Books
Pages: 376
Format: paperback uk edition
Rating: ★★★★
Synopsis from Goodreads

In a land governed by the cruel Frostblood ruling class, seventeen-year-old Ruby is a Fireblood who has spent most of her life hiding her ability to manipulate heat and light – until the day the soldiers come to raid her village and kill her mother. Ruby vows revenge on the tyrannous Frost King responsible for the massacre of her people.

But Ruby’s powers are unpredictable…and so are the feelings she has for Arcus, the scarred, mysterious Frostblood warrior who shares her goal to kill the Frost King, albeit for his own reasons. When Ruby is captured by the Frost King’s men, she’s taken right into the heart of the enemy. Now she only has one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who took everything from her – and in doing so, she must unleash the powers she’s spent her whole life withholding.

Frostblood is set in world where flame and ice are mortal enemies – but together create a power that could change everything.

My thoughts

Frostblood is one of my favorite reads so far this year, it was well written and had a good pace to it. From the beginning Elly Blake caught my attention and I was drawn in. I loved how she contrasted fire and ice and how these key elements flowed throughout the story.

The characters were amazing and I loved all of them! Ruby was a strong female character and even when she was afraid she tried to stand up and fight for what she believed in. I really like that we not only saw how strong Ruby was but we also got to see her vulnerabilities and how human she was. I think sometimes when authors try to write strong females they just make them one dimensional but Elly Blake did a great job showing us the fullness of who Ruby was. Arcus 😍 was such a mystery but seeing him open up and finding out more about him throughout the story made me fall in love with him. The monks were soo sweet (except for one) and I loved seeing their relationship with each other and Ruby.

The only characters I was not that keen on were King Ramsus and Marella. I feel like they were just one dimensional and we did not really see a lot of who they were. Ramsus was supposed to be the villain but he did not give me that vibe; the true villain was the Minax.

I loved the world that this book was set in. I do wish we got more from the world but maybe we will in the next book. The descriptions in the book were great and I could see how everything was supposed to look like in my head. There were so many things in the book that I did not see coming and I love that about this book! It is not predictable for the most part and that is what kept me reading.

I really recommend this new book by Elly Blake! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Have a lovely day bibliophilenerds

Leave a Reply

